Rebel XSi image noise

ShootAndSpin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm fairly new to the XSi, which I realize is a fairly "entry level" DSLR. I used to shoot RAW images with the original digital Rebel and had decent results with little-to-no digital "noise". I noticed with the XSi that I tend to be getting a lot of it in my images. I realize it's common to get more when shooting in low-light situations, but I also get colored artifacts when shooting in daylight at ISO 200 at 1/100 in Manual mode, which never seemed to happen when I used the original Rebel DSLR. Is this a common problem with this camera, and if so do you have any suggestions to remedy this issue? I use Photoshop, but you can only do so much with the noise reduction filter.

Someone else may be able to provide more technical information, but I can absolutely understand where you're coming from as an XSi owner.

Post a few shots showing these problems and the folks here can help determine if it's a settings/light issue or a camera issue.

The biggest thing I've found that will help is to make sure you have good, sufficient lighting. Not lighting that you think is good enough, but the correct amount for proper exposure of the photo.

It's funny, I look back at photos that I took a few years ago (or even a few months ago, haha) that I thought were fantastic. They were almost always underexposed or way overexposed. I've just come to terms with the fact that I will have some amount of noise in my photos when shooting in less than stellar light. Yes, Photoshop and Lightroom can remove a good amount of it, but there's always the balance of removing too much or leaving some in the photo.

Because a digital camera doesn't work like our eyes work we have to consider the dynamic range of the scene we are shooting compared to the dynamic range the sensor in our cameras can capture.
The camera needs quite a bit more light than our eyes do.