Rebel XSi

rockandrowland

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was going to buy myself a Nikon sometime soon, but my parents have offered to purchase a camera for me. The one they want to buy me is the Rebel XSi (they either know someone to sell it to them, or found it on sale)... with the Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 lens. It's not the brand I was researching, so I don't really know that much about it, and when I read reviews, most of the time I get really lost in the jargon. I am by no means an expert photographer, but I have experience working with high quality photos through my graphic design work. I have also been told that I am a “natural” and have a good eye. Is this a camera that can grow with me? I don't want to have to replace it in a few years, I'd like to hold onto it for a while.
If I decide to get it, what lenses should I be looking at for photographing bands and fun shots with friends? (maybe some macro?)

It is an excellent camera and Canon glass is superb. I might consider another lens rather than that kit lens. That said, many Nikons are excellent choices too. Which Nikon body/lens combination were you looking at? With that info, people here can give you a better idea of the benefits of either choice.

Ian

The XSi is a perfectly capable camera. It is the low end of the Canon dSLR line (though not the lowest, that's the XS). It's a great camera for a beginner, and hey, it's free ;)

The lens it comes with isn't great, but with the money you were saving up for a Nikon you can buy new glass.

Don't get caught up in brands...they are really quite similar.

The camera is a good one.

The camera I was looking at was the Nikon D80- I was just going to get a few VR lenses

Last edited:
The EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS kit lens included with the Rebel XSi camera features optical image stabilization (IS), which is Canon's version of Nikon's Vibration Reduction (VR) to compensate for hand-held camera shake.