reeaaally long exposures

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by pilgrim, Jun 13, 2004.

  1. pilgrim

    pilgrim TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Victoria BC Canada
    I shoot with the digital rebel and was wondering how I can do exposures past 30 seconds.. Im assuming it's something super easy that I should know, or the manual could tell me.. but I could really use your guy's help :D
     
  2. photobug

    photobug TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pasco, WA
    I read somewhere that you can take shorter exposures one after the other and then stack them as layers in PS. Sorry, don't remember where I read it though. :(
     
  3. voodoocat

    voodoocat ))<>(( Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,277
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Does it have a bulb shutter speed?
     
  4. Canon Fan

    Canon Fan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Purgatory, Wisconsin
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The digital rebel should have a "bulb" setting. If you trun the shutter speed all the way down it should say bulb. You can then make exposures as long as you want. However you will not be able to do this using the shutter release button without getting shake. I would recommend buying a remote release cable for this.

    Found this one for $24

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=43454&item=3820323005&rd=1
     
  5. pilgrim

    pilgrim TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Victoria BC Canada
    hmm, I have seen this bulb option... do have to hold the shutter release down the entire time then? is that why camera shake is a concern? I'll hafta pick up a remote then.
    Thanks Canon Fan :D
     
  6. Canon Fan

    Canon Fan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Purgatory, Wisconsin
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes the "bulb" setting alows very long exposures because you must hold the shutter open the entire time so you really need an external button.
     
  7. malachite

    malachite Heavily Medicated For Your Protection

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Not in Arizona anymore
    No provision for a cable release? If not, check out whether or not it only takes a half push to end your exposure. If that's the case, you just use the timer to start the exposure.
     
  8. Sharkbait

    Sharkbait TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    P 79 in the manual. Set the control dial to manual ("M"), and you can set the shutter speed to 'bulb'. Manual says you can do exposures as long as the battery will hold out then. :shock:
     
  9. Rainman

    Rainman TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Cable releases have a little thumb screw that you tighten to hold the plunger down, ie, shutter open, for very long exposures. Otherwise you just keep your thumb on the plunger. It is not at all practical to attempt to hold the shutter button itself when using B even with the sturdiest tripod. You will induce camera shake. If your shutter release does not have the little threaded hole for a cable release I believe I have seen little brackets that clamp over the shutter release so the plunger from the cable release presses directly on the shutter release button.
     
  10. Sharkbait

    Sharkbait TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    The cable release for the 300D has a button that you can click, then slide to lock it on.
     
  11. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    That wonderfully simple $10 design worked fine for decades, but now all the manufacturers design proprietary cable releases so that you are forced to buy their $50+ release, if they offer a cable release option at all. Someone was on here complaining that their Sigma SLR didn't have a cable release option.
     
  12. Jeff Canes

    Jeff Canes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Hollywood, FLA USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Remote Switch Canon part# RS-60e3
    Under 25 USD at Adorama or B&H
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page