Regal Eagle

Miki

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Saw this gentleman sunning himself after a brief shower at the zoo. Very calm, composed... dignified. Quite a sight.
I'm aware there's quite a few flaws, starting with the odd crop. I'm also really looking for technical comments/critique about the post-processing since this is my first attempt at a final digital image from a raw file . I ran it through what i believe are standard clean-up tools in Capture & PhotoShop CS.
The stats: D70, 70-300 lens @ 300. F5.6, 1/40, ISO 200.

EDIT: Added Original raw image.

SMALL:

28703198_5b26ca6eee_b.jpg

ORIGINAL:

29382664_2d7b68dac8_b.jpg

LARGE:

Bald_Eagle1.jpg

Great shot! (Although it would be nice if you could resize the photo to around 800 pixels please)

Those feathers are really captivating eventhough it is a little over exposed on the white areas of his head. I can't really comment on the composition coz I have to scroll around to see the whole photo. I wish I had the patience for these great animal photos.... hmmm someday.

Very cool pic. The larger version is amazing. A lot of detail in the feathers. Well done

from what i can see, you have a stunning image of our nations bird! any chance you could show us a larger view?

Thanks for the comments, Meysha, Chiller & Jon !!
:)

wow Miki what detail! thanks for resizing!

(i'll get with you soon regarding the PM)

Great shot Miki! Love it..

It's so hard to get a really crisp shot in these low lighting situations,.. I always try to manual focus on the eyes and face. Looks like your focus was on the feathers near the front of the image., and since you had shallow dof, the head is not to sharp.

I always try to use at least f8 in all my shots.. @ 125 to help hold the image due to my shakey hands. I would crank up the iso to help., at least 1000 in dim conditions.