Regarding Photojournalism

Stussyfied

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, im currently new to this.
Im basically doing a research on photojournalism
Basically i just want to know more about photojournalism and what it takes to get a good quality photo.
Care to share some tips and knowledge?

thanks alot!

I do think regardless of what anyone on here or anywhere else might tell you #1 in that link is the most important thing you can do. It is imperative even starting out to have the best gear you can get. That means 2.8 lenses all the way through and a decent (not the top but close) body. I cannot stress more the importance of having 2.8 lenses for becoming a journalist. I had to leave photojournalisim and a job freelancing for several papers because I decided to invest in medium format gear for weddings instead of a 2.8 lens for photojournalisim. I would say to begin with the most important lens to have would be a Nikon 70-200VR 2.8 or the Canon eqivalent I left out other brands because I am a realist and because if you are serious about getting into professional journalisim Canon or Nikon are the only brands to use. If you get into a paper that might have gear you can use I guarantee you you will never find one with Olympus, Minolta, etc.... I know this FACT might offend some but that is just what it is, a FACT look on the sideline of any professional (or amatuer for that matter) and find me one of those other brands. All the other things in that link are important as well but I would say school and gear are the 2 tops and things like internships follow if you are good enough.

wow, thanks for the quick response guys. Hmm so far im quite clear about photojournalism.

well it takes time to become a professional one though.