Registering a Domain

Pure

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I need a good, reliable, non-asshole registrar. I've heard too many horror stories about Godaddy and 1and1, so don't recommend them.

The requirements:

www.colincbassett.com
2 Years
Private Registration
1 or 2 Mailboxes, 1 or 2gb storage
Email forwarding is optional, but could be useful.

And that's pretty much it.

Basically all I need to do is register a domain for my Zenfolio page. I'd like a registrar that's not going to somehow charge me $1000 and get away with it.

Don't know where you hear horror stories on GoDaddy domain hosting. I've only heard negatives in their website hosting.

I've been using GoDaddy domain hosting for 3 years - not one problem - ever. However, there are plenty out there, just do a Google search or...Bing Search? =)

I don't understand why people think it cost's ridiculous amounts money to set up a site. My domain, which is a .com, cost me $30 for 2 years. You don't need to worry about mailboxes or storage, this will be decided by your web host site, not domain registration site. There are plenty of sites out there that will offer cheap hosting.

I don't need hosting because I'm using Zenfolio for my hosting. I merely need www.colincbassett.com to forward to colincbassett.zenfolio.com

Don't know where you hear horror stories on GoDaddy domain hosting. I've only heard negatives in their website hosting.

I've been using GoDaddy domain hosting for 3 years - not one problem - ever. However, there are plenty out there, just do a Google search or...Bing Search? =)
+1......I have several domains registered with GoDaddy and have had for many years. I've even used them to host web sites and have never had a customer service problem with them.

Many people have trouble keeping urban legend separate from reality.

To me GoDaddy was a pain to use, but it worked... I guess I wanted more/better control at my fingertips.