Reinvest or keep buying Canon ?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by pcacj, Jan 19, 2010.

1. pcacj

pcacj TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    My level is absolute beginner and I currently have a Canon XTi with two decent lenses and several low-end lenses. I have experimented with these lenses and do not currently modify my pics for color enhancement. My pics seem drab. Obviously my skill level has tons to do with that but I want to start off with the correct equipment so that I know the results are my skills and not my equipment. I was considering starting over and getting the new Nikon D700 and ONE awesome lens rather than buying one or two prime Canon lenses (70-200 and a 17-55). My goal in the future is to take senior pics and other portraiture photos where color and skin tone are of major importance. The larger format of the D700 is a big motivator. Any thoughts?

2. zeto88

zeto88 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    D700? For a beginner?
    You can pick up a D90 for half the price, also a 50mm f/1.4 D for another 400ish.
    A great set up for portraits, and you've only spent half the money you intended too!
    Now you can pick up a great strobist set. :)

3. pharmakon

pharmakon TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    You don't have to buy a more expensive new camera to get better color. Make sure you are nailing the exposure, as improper exposure can wash out your color. If you are shooting in jpeg look at your in camera processing settings, you can probably boost the saturation in there somewhere as well.

Full frame cameras have their advantages, but I don't think merely buying one and changing nothing else about how you are shooting would fix the issue.

4. SLRJoe

SLRJoe TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit