Remote Shutter For Rebels - Would this actually work?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Miaow, May 5, 2008.

  1. Miaow

    Miaow TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South of Melbourne, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Was just searching around on the net looking for prices on remote shutters for the Canon EOS and came across this page on how to make one using a hands-free headset for a mobile phone - Looks very interesting (and cheap lol) if it actually works.

    Has anyone here actually tried making one of these?

    $5 Remote Shutter Trigger for Canon Digital Rebels
     
  2. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I made one for the D200 but I didn't have the luxury of a 2.5mm socket. The D200 has a proprietary 10pin socket.
     
  3. Miaow

    Miaow TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South of Melbourne, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm thinking of trying it out as it seems an intersting way of making one.

    I notice it was saying a few other Canons have different sockets also - This seemed to be more for the Rebel Models etc
     
  4. TCimages

    TCimages TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Va
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Why would you risk shorting out the circuit on your camera when these remotes are like 20 bucks? Even Cheaper than that if you don't mind Ebay
     
  5. Miaow

    Miaow TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South of Melbourne, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes thats true - I am a little hesitant for that reason also on actually doing it - hence why I asked on here to see if anyone's actually done something like this
     
  6. frXnz kafka

    frXnz kafka TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    There really isn't any risk of that. It's not like these things are putting out any power. I made my own switch from RadioShack parts, and it works just fine.
     
  7. TCimages

    TCimages TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Northern Va
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    well there ya go. Perfectly safe
     
  8. Rhys

    Rhys TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Unfortunately it's not so simple for the 30D.
     
  9. danjchau

    danjchau TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    -------------
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  10. Miaow

    Miaow TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South of Melbourne, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If the camera's already been focused in and using manual settings the 1/2 press wouldn't be as important would it?
     
  11. Rhys

    Rhys TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    As far as I know, there are 3 contacts: 1, 2 and GND. Connect 1 and GND to get the auto-focus. Connect 2 and GND to get the shutter release.
     
  12. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Why risk shorting the camera? That's the bloody point. You need to short one of the pins to ground :p

    It's called TTL Logic (or CMOS logic depending on the actual parts) but it doesn't matter if you put a short or 5V into the socket, even if you stuff it up you won't ruin the camera. It will just read it as voltage high / voltage low.
     

Share This Page