Flavio

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I have a Nikon D610, but sometimes I leave it at home because of it's weight and size. So I'm considering to buy a mirrorless with similar photo quality. I'm thinking of the Fujifilm X-T20.

Would I get used to the diferent controls as overall of the camera quickly?
Would I notice less photo quality?

Thanks in advance for the help,
Best regards.

I went from Nikon 7100 to Fuji XT2 and am happy with the switch. I was tempted by the Xt20 but didn't want only the one SD slot - I like to shoot raw + jpeg on separate cards. I find the Fuji controls to be very intuitive and not as menu driven as the Nikon. Originally I had planned to keep the Nikon gear for my more "serious" photos (I'm a hobbyist not a pro) and use the Fuji for vacations and family stuff but I soon realized that there was nothing that the Nikon could do for me that the Fuji couldn't so ended up selling all my Nikon stuff and buying a couple of additional Fuji lenses. I'm very happy with the photo quality, especially the jpegs and very rarely need to use the raw files. With the lighter weight and smaller profile, I take my camera with me all the time now instead of just for photo specific outings.

What do you shoot?
Are you a pro or hobbyist?
Will you switch or keep both?

I can't comment on Fuji just to say lots here use them and are very happy and I've seen many lovely photos taken with them (I even have one on my wall ;) @SquarePeg ).

How many Nikon lenses do you have. I recently got rid of a small system and stuck with buying a Nikon d5600. Small, tidy, your existing lenses may work if they have built in motors. A small standard zoom might see you right. It might or might not be a better option than changing complete system

Edit- I meant add a smaller Nikon to existing system

Last edited:
Nikon D610 vs Fujifilm X-T20