replacing a background in cs5

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by RockstarPhotography, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +112 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    I've never really had the need to replace a background before. But, I'm trying out some new stuff. I've tried to make my selections 2 ways. using the quick selection tool and the refine edge. and using the channels path, applying the image, and using levels. Either way I try it, i'm getting a white halo around my image. I've tried feathering using the brush around the selection (in refine edge) and adjusting sliders every way I can think of to no avail. Still have that white halo around my image. Am I missing something here? The image is on a white background now. Its getting frustrating.
  2. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +112 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    nevermind. figured it out.
  3. Bend The Light
    Offline

    Bend The Light Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Barnsley, Oop-Nooerth, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +361 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Can I ask what you did to "figure it out"...I use the quick select and refine edge method. Sometimes it's great, but others it's appalling. I think I may be missing something...
  4. CCericola
    Offline

    CCericola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Washington
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +563 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
  5. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,298
    Likes Received:
    4,140
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,193 / 4
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Check out the 'Color Range' function.
  6. Bitter Jeweler
    Offline

    Bitter Jeweler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,955
    Likes Received:
    4,905
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,905 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    try the pen tool as well.
  7. SunnyHours
    Offline

    SunnyHours New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    You can also download or install from the DVD the "Extract" filter that came in previous versions of Photoshop...
  8. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +112 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    After using the refine edge to get it the best I could, I contracted the selection to make the rest of the halo go away
  9. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +112 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    pen tool don't work so well with fur and crazy hair lol. At least not for me.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
background on cs5
,
change and replace background with photoshop cs5
,

change background in photoshop in cs5.1

,
change background to white in photoshop cs5
,

cs5 replace background

,
fm forums jewelry white back ground
,
how to change a background to only white in cs5?
,
how to change background in cs5
,

how to change background in photoshop cs5.1

,

how to change background to white cs5

,

how to change the background in photoshop cs5

,

how to replace a background in cs5

,

how to replace background in cs5

,

how to replace background in photoshop cs5

,

photoshop cs5 replace background

,

replace background in photoshop cs5

,
replace white background in photoshop
,

replacing a background in photoshop cs5

,

replacing backgrounds in photoshop cs5

,

replacing the background in photoshop cs5