replacing a background in cs5

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by RockstarPhotography, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +103 / 0
    I've never really had the need to replace a background before. But, I'm trying out some new stuff. I've tried to make my selections 2 ways. using the quick selection tool and the refine edge. and using the channels path, applying the image, and using levels. Either way I try it, i'm getting a white halo around my image. I've tried feathering using the brush around the selection (in refine edge) and adjusting sliders every way I can think of to no avail. Still have that white halo around my image. Am I missing something here? The image is on a white background now. Its getting frustrating.
  2. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +103 / 0
    nevermind. figured it out.
  3. Bend The Light
    Offline

    Bend The Light Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Barnsley, Oop-Nooerth, UK
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +361 / 0
    Can I ask what you did to "figure it out"...I use the quick select and refine edge method. Sometimes it's great, but others it's appalling. I think I may be missing something...
  4. CCericola
    Online

    CCericola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    563
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Washington
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +563 / 0
  5. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    33,979
    Likes Received:
    4,045
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,047 / 0
    Check out the 'Color Range' function.
  6. Bitter Jeweler
    Offline

    Bitter Jeweler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,955
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,902 / 0
    try the pen tool as well.
  7. SunnyHours
    Offline

    SunnyHours New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    You can also download or install from the DVD the "Extract" filter that came in previous versions of Photoshop...
  8. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +103 / 0
    After using the refine edge to get it the best I could, I contracted the selection to make the rest of the halo go away
  9. RockstarPhotography
    Offline

    RockstarPhotography Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Colorado
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +103 / 0
    pen tool don't work so well with fur and crazy hair lol. At least not for me.

Share This Page