Request for Assistance – Wedding Photography

ShutterVan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Upfront: I’m a hobbyist and only interested in enjoying photography as a hobbyist. I have more hobbies than I have time to perfect. Photography, I do it only for fun; however, I do enjoy helping people.

Problem: I have a request from a dear friend who can’t afford a pricy photographer for her wedding. While they think I’m talented – they are only seeing few of many pictures I’ve taken. Not to mention they are not seeing all of the technical issues a professional photographer adjusts for in real time and photo editing. I will have a heart-to-heart to ensure they know ahead of time. I don’t want to screw this up as you can’t replace priceless memories. I’d appreciate inputs.

Recommendations or Advice:

I would say no.

Personally I think I could've done a decent job, but I would never take the risk unless I was 100% sure I could deliver. Probably a boring and defensive attitude, but then again, I've never screwed up a wedding.

Offer to help pay for a pro in lieu of a wedding gift of a toaster or coffee maker.

Offer to help pay for a pro in lieu of a wedding gift of a toaster or coffee maker.

I really like that idea, it's great. Somehow I don't think I'm going to get off that easy.

I would say no.

Personally I think I could've done a decent job, but I would never take the risk unless I was 100% sure I could deliver. Probably a boring and defensive attitude, but then again, I've never screwed up a wedding.

Hence the reason for the heart-to-heart. I think I could probably do a decent job too. As far as risk, I believe that it's their risk to accept. And the saying holds true..."no good deed goes unpunished," help one, help all. I'll enjoy taking pictures but want them to know the risk. I also the idea of everyone using the phone and sending them the pictures; however, I feel that method interferes with the sanctity of the ceremony.