Resolution

Trentlee07

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok I am new to photography. I work for a mail order company and design the annual catalog and maintain the website. We are taking all of our own photos for our catalog. My problem is that when i put the photo i have taken on my computer the resoultion is only 72 DPI. is there a way to get it to come over at higher DPI? My question is very amature i am sure but i would appreciate your help. Thanks in advance..

Welcome to the forum.

The resolution is set at 72 PPI (Pixels Per Inch) because that is sufficient for monitor display. That number really isn't important though. The important number is the actual size of the image, in pixels.

Welcome to the forum.

The resolution is set at 72 PPI (Pixels Per Inch) because that is sufficient for monitor display. That number really isn't important though. The important number is the actual size of the image, in pixels.

It's usually pretty important for printing...when you put it on a layout page, if it's too low it shows up poo...You can always change it though when you do the final layout.

I'm talking about the PPI...which is actually what the OP was asking about (whether they knew it or not). And it isn't' important. You could change it to 12 or 12,000 (without re sampling) and it wouldn't change the image one bit (except for how large your monitor wants to display it).

If the image is 3504 x 2336 (pixels)....that is what is important.

Now when you switch from talking about a digital image on the screen...to an image that will be printed...then you will want to consider the number of pixels per inch (of print). Most people will say that 300 is the number to use....so for an 8x10 print, you would want an image file that is at least 2400 x 3000 pixels.

DPI (dots per inch) is a printer setting/function for how many dots of ink that are laid down onto the paper...and this doesn't necessarily have anything to do with the number of pixels in the image.