Returning to hobby but unanswered questions bother (Long)

cathexis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings All,

I'm a newbie to this forum but not to forums in general. Back in the 70's/80's (yes, it's been that long) my "outfit" was a used Miranda Sensorex and an even older Yashica 2 1/4" fixed lens reflex. Both were great and got lots of use, mainly in still life outdoor shots where I would use the variability of the Miranda on both f-stop, shutter speed, and ISO (as well as filters) to make "creative" shots. I always bracketed my shots so to save printing costs, I'd even shoot contact prints in the bathroom, flicking the 60W on/off as fast I could. Hey, it worked! But now I have only a Fuji S1800 Finepix which is WAY not able to recreate the shots I want. For example, the Fuji offers an A for aperture mode and a M for manual mode but actually the only choices for f-stop are 3.1 & 6.4, IIRC. I want to ask the group whether modern DSLR's can even do certain shots and if so what are some model ideas. Interchangeable lens are a must but it is the variability in f-stop & shutter speed settings that are crucial. No interest in flash, natural light only. The more it can do in B&W the better. I'm less interested in learning Photo-Shop Pro and such than in having a camera that I can take in field and do those things - in the field. But getting this level of camera specs. has been very hard; The Fuji for example, makes it very clear it has a "Manual & Custom modes" - but the devil is in the details!

Here are 2 examples of simple shots that I'd want to recreate and ask your suggestions on:
1. Simple low-profile up at tree with dramatic clouds in background using red filter in B&W.