RGB Histogram, how important?

robitussin217

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been reading about DSLRs for a while now but have yet to make a trip to Ritz camera to have a hands on experience. I may have an opportunity to pick up a D70s and a couple of lenses for around $600. It only has a black and white histogram. For you seasoned DSLR users; would/does this cause a big problem in determining your exposure?

Being a beginner, I've planned on getting the Nikon D40. I'm gonna do all the normal stuff. (people photography) I'm also mostly interested in outdoor photography- nature, wildlife, landscapes. I've always thought it was neat that photographing wildlife has many of the benefits of hunting; outdoors, stalking, tracking, sneaking, enjoying animals, getting a great shot- without having to kill the animal in order to enjoy it and mount it on your wall.

Good ole Ken Rockwell boasts about the metering of the D70s. And, it has a 5-point auto focus vs. the D40 3-point. Does anyone know of any other big benefits of the D70s over the D40? The D40 has a bigger LCD. Which do you recommend considering the black and white histogram? Thanks for any help.

It's not important? Maybe I should have named the title of the thread differently. "Noob looking for first camera, HELP!"

the Histogram will help you with understanding exposure IMO. If something is to light it will show if something is to dark it will show, etc. When I take a shot I have my autopreview set for histogram to avoid me having to reshoot the shot.

I primarily use M mode now since I've finally learned to take my time. I use AV and TV when I have less control over what I'm shooting.

And, it has a 5-point auto focus vs. the D40 3-point.