rule of thirds

wysoczanski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
now Im not sure if im understanding rule or law of thirds...can you guys help me out here.... i feel like these pics may be if not close to rule of thirds all help appreciated...as i am a noob thanks :D C&C

3565327932_f6e5fc4490.jpg

3565326704_f47272f198.jpg

3565326926_940d21075b.jpg

i know i post a lot of pics of frogs but thats what i got to work with and thats what ill post thanks for all help :D

Yes, you're understanding it correctly. Now that you've certifiably learned the rule of thirds you can stop caring about it. ;)

It looks to me like you are understanding it. The rule of thirds is that the main focal point of the photo should be placed along one of the lines dividing the photo in thirds, or at the intersection of two of those lines.

All of your photos more or less follow this rule.

Ya I would say you know what your doing. I dont like calling it the "rule" of thirds... more like the guideline of thirds if you ask me :)

sweeet thanks guys :D thats one accomplishment i learned this weekend soo happy now...wats next lol :D thanks again

What's next?

Learning when & why you can completely ignore this rule. That might prove more difficult.

What's next?

Learning when & why you can completely ignore this rule. That might prove more difficult.
care to elaborate? as a noob my self,i study these post,all info is greatly appreciated

Well, you know - all rules are made to be broken.

There are times when there are more important things than the rule of thirds. Somtimes symmetry is more important, for example.

Think of the rule of thirds as an aide to composition- it helps, but you don't have to use it every time.

I agree I would pull in tighter on the frog, he looks like he might smile for you ;-)