Running a macbook through an external monitor

purpleroan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone! I'm looking to upgrade my laptop this year, and have decided on a macbook pro. I know most photographers would point me towards the 15" becasue of the larger screen, but I'm a student as well and have decided on the top-spec'd 13" due to increased portability. I wish to purchase an IPS external monitor as well to edit photos on to make up for the smaller space. However, I've recently heard rumors that macs can overheat in clamshell mode and destroy the display...does anybody have experience with this happening? Is this overall an ok set-up? Opinions and info greatly appreciated...I just don't want to unknowingly damage a brand new laptop!

I cant speak to the 13 inch ones but I have the most recent 15 (my main work computer as an iOS developer) and I ONLY run it closed and connected to 2 monitors. I have not, in the past 2.5 years of doing this, had an issue. The computer is on all day and run closed for at least 9 of those hours continuously.

The bigger problem, and this extends to all laptops not just mac, is people who shove it right in the case with the fans running. Basically you disconnect it from your monitor and the fans are still running (there is some spin down time before it goes to sleep) but you put it right in the case. This circulates hot air in a sealed case and can damage the computer. The other big problem I have seen with these computer (I have been using mac laptops every day since 2005) is those silly plastic snap on cases. Those tend to impede proper airflow and don't really offer that much protection.

I would wait and see if any one here pops up and says they have had an issue as I am only one user.

Regards
Dave

I would consider myself to be a lighter user than Dave, but I've used mine with an external screen without issue.