same lense for canon and nikon?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by idaida, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. idaida

    idaida TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway, Ireland, France
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I've just a quick question that i think i know the answer to, but i just need to be a 100% sure before buying my new SLR. I've got a Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG MACRO that i bought for my Nikon F90 camera last year. Is this lense also compatible with canon eos 400D? I'm about to buy a digital camera, and the D40 lacks a good deal of the features i want and the D80 is a bit too expensive for the moment...i've realised after reading about several cameras that the canon 400D gives me more for the money i can spend, but it seems stupid having to buy gear for two cameras as i might want to take slides with the F90 later...If the sigma lense is universal, i'll buy the canon camera. If not, i'll have to buy the Nikon D80 i think and use it with the Sigma lense until i can afford to buy the Sigma 17-70mm...I really appreciate any advice as i'm so impatient to get started!

    Regards,
    poor and impatient student
     
  2. Don Simon

    Don Simon TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry but no. They have different lens mounts. You can buy exactly the same lens with a Canon lens mount, but you can't just take your current one with a Nikon lens mount and use it on a Canon.

    There is an adapter which will let you use Nikon lenses on Canon dSLRs. I don't know how compatible the Sigma would be though, and you would obviously lose auto focus and probably some metering functions too.
     
  3. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,817
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

    Yes, that's pretty much correct. The lens mount is different, so you can't swap lenses between Canon & Nikon cameras.

    That being said, there are adaptors that do allow you to mount Nikon lenses onto canon cameras...but you lose things like Auto focus, metering and maybe even infinity focus. Not very convenient.

    On a side note, the Movie "The Corpse Bride", was shot entirely with Canon DSLR cameras and Nikon lenses. The reason was that they already had the Nikon lenses...but Canon has the best camera.
     
  4. Alex_B

    Alex_B No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    14,491
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Europe 67.51°N
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    a movie shot with a DSLR?
     
  5. Don Simon

    Don Simon TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stop motion animation.
     
  6. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    They used the Canon 1Ds MkII.
     
  7. Alex_B

    Alex_B No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    14,491
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Europe 67.51°N
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    thanks for that info, didn't know!
     
  8. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    Your sigma has a nikon mount. If it has the aperture ring, then you'll be able to use it on canon, you'll just lose the manual focusing.

    You can use nikon glass on canons.
    You'll be able to focus to infinity
    If the lens has the aperture ring, you'll be able to stop it down
    You won't be able to autofocus

    You can't do it the other way around - use canon's glass on a nikon.
     
  9. idaida

    idaida TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway, Ireland, France
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    thank a lot guys, this forum is great. it has the aperture ring. i didn't quite understand that i'll lose the manual focus at the same time as i won't be able to autofocus...but i think i'll buy the NIkon D80 and use it with the sigma until i can afford another lense.

    thanks again!

    ida
     
  10. Don Simon

    Don Simon TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Likes Received:
    0
    You probably realised this already but just thought I'd point out that Doc Frankenstein presumably means you can use your lens on a Canon with an adapter ring(?)
     
  11. idaida

    idaida TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway, Ireland, France
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    heh heh, thanx, i got a little confused there cause i didn't see the logic. i'm pretty new to the technically advanced photo world as my pics up until recently were taken with a Canon AE1 from 1978...i actually feel i took better pics with that camera than with my nikon f90 since i ve never really had the time to get to know it...but for economical matters it cheaper to go digital then to buy film, pay for development and throw away half of the slides...so here i am!

    thanks again:)
     
  12. usayit

    usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9,523
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    North New Jersey, United States of America
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit

    More accurately, 1D MarkII.
     

Share This Page