Saving for Web

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by Nikon Fan, May 22, 2005.

  1. Nikon Fan

    Nikon Fan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,524
    Likes Received:
    49
    Well I was playing around and all the sudden my copy of CS up and started working. I had been using 5.5 and it was allowing me to save images for web easily. However CS is giving me fits and I don't know what the problem is. I'm started out with images that are about 22mb in size, editing those, and then trying to save for web, it says that the file size is to large, but that I can proceed and I do, then set image size to 650 and it auto adjusts the other number, then when it saved it still saved it at like 14mb...in 5.5 it would always save at like 100kb....am I forgetting a step or doing something wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated :) Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't understand your steps you've listed. You went so save it for web and then resized it?
     
  3. Nikon Fan

    Nikon Fan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,524
    Likes Received:
    49
    Sorry I'm a bit tired and didn't type that too cleary

    1. Edited the pic
    2. Went to save for web
    3. Under the 2up tab I sized it at 650 (auto changed the second #) and then hit apply
    4. Did the save as...but it still didn't save it for web...it was still 14mb rather than 100kb...

    This is how I always have done it in the old program, but maybe the newer ones don't work this way?
     
  4. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Are you sure none of the other settings have changed?
    Before you hit save - is it showing the smaller numbers in the preview area?

    That's funny - i never noticed you could change the size of the pic in that save for web area. I always did it before I opened that up.
    I just did a test doing it your way and it works fine for me.
     
  5. Nikon Fan

    Nikon Fan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,524
    Likes Received:
    49
    Well this is really weird. I closed the program, started over and opened a pic, then did the same steps and it worked. I tried to do another pic, and it's giving me the this image is to large warning again...but it didn't do that on the previous one....quite strange...
     
  6. dalebe

    dalebe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    cheshire, england.
    Why do you have to save the images for the web? i have never done this,i have always saved directly to my folder, that way you have more control over re-sizing, and taken the image from it using photobucket.
     
  7. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You get a much smaller file size and retain quality by using save for the web. You have as much control resizing as you want, if you just resize it first. I paste my photo into a new document and resize it, then save it for web.
     
  8. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't bother copying mine to a new document I just save it (as a PSD usually) then I resize and save for web. Then I just close the document and when it prompts me if I want to save changes I just click 'no' because I know I've already saved it as a PSD file.
     
  9. Nikon Fan

    Nikon Fan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,524
    Likes Received:
    49
    Well mine is finally working...not sure what the deal was but it works now :)
     
  10. dalebe

    dalebe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    cheshire, england.
    i've never had a problem matt, but i will try your method next time cheers!
     
  11. Cuervo79

    Cuervo79 Guest

    next time, before ps tries to render the second preview in the two up just press esc and it will stop rendering, then you can adjust the image size faster, and no "file to big" msg.....
     
  12. Peldor

    Peldor TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Look just to the right of the preset menu they have a button with an arrow facing right... hit that and it should bring out the optimize menu. Select the "Optimize to File Size" selection and go from there! Dont forget to re-size in the "Image Size" tab beforhand!
     

Share This Page