SB 600/800 troubleshooting

chromeaddict

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am relatively new to flash photography. Im currently using a Nikon D80 with a SB800 on the camera and a SB600 as a slave and shooting action sports. The subject is usually very close and Im shooting with a wide lens. My problem is that both these flashes seem to work only half the time. The SB600 hardly fires half the time. Ive tried different modes, iTTL, manual etc and had little luck getting any consistency. Sometimes on the first shot the SB600 will flash and then beep 3 times (over exposure?) and then not fire again. Im not over exposing but maybe the camera thinks I am? Even today the 800 directly on the camera would only fire about half the time. The batteries are fresh. I usually am shooting in Aperature mode.

I have alot to learn about flash photography and I understand your guys arent here to give complete lessons but if anyone has a link to a video that can help explain the basics of this setup Id be grateful.

If not than I have some Nikon gear for sale but it may be slightly damaged from hucking it out the window.....

Actually I just thought to look on YouTube for some tutorials so Ill do some research there. In the meantime if anyone has any advice Im all ears.

Thanks

Wait what is the issue here. A wireless slave not firing? Or the Master flash not firing. In either case if the master is low on batteries or is not fully ready then it will not trigger the slave, instead just fire itself.

Additionally when the slave beeps three times it has underexposed from what the camera wanted, i.e. fired at full power. This can be fixed by opening the aperture, raising the ISO, or moving the flash closer to the subject, in any case if you are using good batteries I think there's a 4-5 second recharge cycle from full power on a SB-600. If you're using standard Alkalines or NiCads then the recycle time will be larger.