Scanner vs digital camera

zedin

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am really struggling to decide.. My old scanner broke so was looking at getting a dedicated film scanner.. but with the cost I would almost rather just get a digital body instead. I would have to wait a bit longer to save up the extra money for a d70. I am just debating.. a digital would be nice since I would feel less constrained when taking pics (since I am a poor graduate student) and using a lot of film.. However from my understanding a good slide scan is a lot better then you are going to get with a even most digital SLRs. Why do these choices need to be so damned hard.

Slide scans are not necessarily better than digital. The MTF of a Fuji ISO 100 slides is pretty bad at 40 lpm and virtually inexistent at 100 lpm.

Which gives you a theoretical resolution limit of 3500 by 2400, which is about 8 mp.

So unless you use ISO 25 slide often AND shoot with sharp primes, it makes sense switching to digital.

What camera system do you have right now?

Currently shooting a nikon f100 so obvious choice would be their d70. Mainly shoot provia 100 right now (like the veliva but its twice as much =p) I was thinking maybe of getting the minolia digiscan 4.. its the one that rund around $220 bucks and is 3600dpi if I recall correctly. Heard it scans well and only drawback is time and noise (both of which I can live with).

I just have to ask what your final output is. How big do you print? Do you project? What do you shoot? How much/how many rolls a month?