Scanning Negatives

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Foxman, Jan 26, 2010.

1. Foxman

Foxman TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have read a couple of threads discussing this but am curious.

I know most people probably just go buy a scanner, but realisticly I am not sure I would be happy with a $100 scanner and can't really afford one much better than that right now. I am considering having some of my stuff from the late 80's early 90's scanned (negatives & slides).

Whats the best place to go, Local or online and what type of money per scan is reasonable. I met a local shop owner today who suggested .35 per was what he charged, but I have no idea how good his scanner is.

I am new to this idea so am not real sure what I should be looking for.

I am hoping to be able to put together a portfolio book with some of my older stuff + my newer digital work. Thoughts?

If it matters 99.9% would be 35mm mostly negative's some slide's, some B&W mostly color and very few if any would be medium format.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I believe that you can actually get pretty decent results with a relatively innexpensive flatbed scanner, especially if it is actually made with the ability to scan film (with a film holder etc.)
    Sure, the results won't be as good as a dedicated film scanner...but that's up to you to decide.

I haven't scanned any film (besides a few experiments, many years ago) so maybe someone with more experience can chime in.

3. ChasK

ChasK TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I scanned a 120 negative with a flatbed scanner and got good results. But it is slow. If you had one or two negatives and had a decent scanner ok, but even 5 or 6 would be too time consuming.

4. Joves

Joves No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit