Scanning Negatives

Foxman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have read a couple of threads discussing this but am curious.

I know most people probably just go buy a scanner, but realisticly I am not sure I would be happy with a $100 scanner and can't really afford one much better than that right now. I am considering having some of my stuff from the late 80's early 90's scanned (negatives & slides).

Whats the best place to go, Local or online and what type of money per scan is reasonable. I met a local shop owner today who suggested .35 per was what he charged, but I have no idea how good his scanner is.

I am new to this idea so am not real sure what I should be looking for.

I am hoping to be able to put together a portfolio book with some of my older stuff + my newer digital work. Thoughts?

If it matters 99.9% would be 35mm mostly negative's some slide's, some B&W mostly color and very few if any would be medium format.

I believe that you can actually get pretty decent results with a relatively innexpensive flatbed scanner, especially if it is actually made with the ability to scan film (with a film holder etc.)
Sure, the results won't be as good as a dedicated film scanner...but that's up to you to decide.

I haven't scanned any film (besides a few experiments, many years ago) so maybe someone with more experience can chime in.

I scanned a 120 negative with a flatbed scanner and got good results. But it is slow. If you had one or two negatives and had a decent scanner ok, but even 5 or 6 would be too time consuming.

My friend made his own with a flatbed scanner. He took an old slide projector and, took out the scanners bulb. Then he set a sheet of paper on the scanner focused and, scanned all of his slides and, negatives. When I saw the setup I laughed but, it actually worked quite well.