Schooling vs. Self-taught

RMT

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I would like to get some opinions on whether becoming a successful photographer has anything to do with the schooling you take, or if "self-teaching" has produced the same level of photographers and are they just as successful. I know one example of a self-taught success story which would be that of Jim Zuckerman.

As a young photographer I'm looking more towards the internet for most of my photographic information, but as a student should my classes start reflecting this passion? Thanks

-Roman Tafoya

If you want to make money from your photography, take Business/Marketing classes at school.

Wot he said! ^^^ The business of photography is almost all about business and very little about photography. I think there are many outstanding photographers who have never set foot in a classroom.. some guy, last name 'Adams' comes to mind... If you have the opportunity however, I would very much recommend it as you'll likely learn a lot more quickly, and have access to many more toys. If you are serious about making a living at it, then you MUST learn business and marketing strategy.

If you are serious about making a living at it, then you MUST learn business and marketing strategy.

Not really... For example, here is my story for NOT taking courses or classes. I've been "professionally shooting" for over 10 yrs. Make a profit every year ( minus my first year of course ), not once have I taken a business or photography class. I average 6-10 prints of my landscape / wildlife images per week, average 2 family shoots a week and I occasionally will shoot a wedding for someone I know ( or a friend of a friend ).