Scottish Coastal View

Chris Ponkster

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is my first photo post - be gentle :) I'm new to digital and am converting my old brain over from film - loving the concept of instant review of a shot !
This was taken a short walk from home - Boddam lighthouse , North East Scotland (taken 11/02/18)

Boddam lighthouse Feb 18 by ponkster45, on Flickr

As scenery goes, this is not bad, but to my eye there is too much.

I would probably have selected two or three different frames in this scene, such as; the light and keeper's house on the little island would be one composition, framed tighter, and cut off before the brown wall. Another would be what appears to be a village with the rocks of the headland included, but cut off at the bridge. And, of course, a short walk from the village onto the bridge to get another, completely different shot.

A Scottish coastal scene with blue sky? :lol: Pull the other one, it's got bells on!!!

;)

Very nice; concur with Designer's comments.

Very Nice! I think it's a pretty good shot, though I think you could have opened up the aperture from f20 as there's quite a bit of diffraction going on. Given how far away the foreground looks I would have thought f11 would have been a better choice.

Compostion wise I like it, maybe a little more room on the bottom as the frame is cutting into the shadow of the rock there, and I'd crop the part of the whitewashed house on the left keepinv the green shed. But I really like the village>bridge>lighthouse thing.

PS I think your sensor might need a little clean, there's some dust gremlins showing in the sky.