SDcard for Nikon D5200

mac4rfree

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi Guys,

I am a new owner of Nikon D5200. I am very new to DSLR. Infact this is first camera.

The Nikon D5200 does not come with a SD Card in it. As far as i have searched, i guess i have to go for Class 10 SD Cards.

But again, there are lot of them , so, Could you please help in zeroing on the SD Card.

Cheers!!

SanDisk extreme pro with write speed 95mbs seems to be great choice for cameras with high mp such as your d5200

SanDisk Extreme & Lexar Pro are my go-to memory cards!

Thanks for your quick inputs.. I will surely check it out.

Nikon recommended SD cards for the D5200 are listed on page 211 of the D5200 Reference Manual.
Nikon recommends a SD card class of 6 or faster for shooting video. Shooting stills is much less demanding of card speed.

In this day and age, any reputable SD card will do, provided it has the specs to back it up. I've used cards from SanDisk, Lexar, Kingston, and PNY either now or in the past. They all seem to work just the same.

Oddly, the only SD card I ever had fail me was a SanDisk. Just sayin...

SanDisk Extreme Pro 95 mbs is what I been using 8 and 16 GB and so far have been rock sold reliable and fast. The same cards been used in Nikon, Canon and Pentax with out a single problem and there cheap enough to get a few or more.

Last edited:
Guys, how about this one.
SanDisk SDHC 16 GB 40 MB/s Class 10
I am on little tight budget here.. Thats why i am going for this. Is it fine or should i go only for Extreme Pro?

I use a 32GB Lexar Professional 400x 60MB/s Class 10 card. When you hear the "X MB/s", that's the read speed, not the write speed... so be wary that a card with a high read speed might not be significantly better with its write speeds (and write speeds are what you are buying the card for).