TiltShift

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.camerastrapworld.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I'm currently in the process of looking at buying a second hand DSLR and wondered if some of you might be able to point me in the right direction!

I don't need the camera to be anything special or fancy, I just want a decent DSLR that I can play about with and take photos for fun - nothing professional. I've been using my dad's old Canon EOS 400D and this is more than good enough for what I need. I think it's a fair few years old now but as I say, it does everything I need really. He's starting to get bored of me using it so often though so I thought I'd look into investing in my own!

I'm on a really limited budget, so I'm looking to go second hand, no doubt a few years old, preferably Canon or Nikon as that way I could borrow my dad's / friend's lenses etc.

I'm sure you can tell I'm no expert, nor am I looking to become one! I just like to take photos of good-looking things for fun :)

I've checked out a few other threads about first cameras etc but they're mostly out of my price range. I'm from the UK as well (I think a lot of you may be from the US?), but I guess most mainstream cameras are available world-wide really.

Thanks in advance!

It would help if you state your budget. Which lenses do your dad have?

Sorry, budget is ideally no more than about £200 ($300?) which I realise is very limiting - hence coming here for help!

When you say which lenses do you mean what model or what focal range etc? (sorry - noob.)

Yes. I presume they will be crop sensor lenses as his 400D is a crop sensor. If you don't like borrowing your dad's camera any longer, would that not apply to his lenses as well? I would suggest checking out ebay for listings in your price range. Then try and get something similar at a local dealer.

It's not that I don't like borrowing it, it's that he doesn't like me borrowing it anymore as I take it too often.