Seeking advice.

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by thebeatles, Feb 19, 2010.

1. thebeatles

thebeatles TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    A local tea shop has asked me to take some "spill" shots of their different teas. When I say spill shots I am referring to something like this: > [ame="http://www.amazon.com/Pomegranate-White-Tea-Loose-Leaf/dp/B001UYY0TM/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&s=gourmet-food&qid=1266628489&sr=8-10"]link[/ame] <
    It doesn't need to be artsy or anything, just a basic product shot displaying the tea. I guess I should also mention this is loose leaf tea (like in the link), not bagged tea. I agreed to do the photos for free, as I am not very confident with my abilities as a photographer yet. I only have one flash that I can use off camera and I am not experienced with off camera flash yet, specifically flash placement. Any tips would be appreciated. I want to do the best job I can so any advice is good advice. :thumbup: Thanks in advance folks! :D

2. williambarry

williambarry TPF Noob!

He who agrees to do work for free is undervaluing his time. Even the people who take pictures at sears make minimum wage.

3. thebeatles

thebeatles TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    If I weren't friends with these people, I would not be as inclined to do something like this for free. I don't know if you have seen any of my photos either, they aren't exactly top notch. :lol:

4. Dominantly

Dominantly TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Soft box, white sweep, hot lighting as many sides as you can (front, sides, back, shoot from top), shoot raw, set a custom white balance when you are all set up....

5. thebeatles

thebeatles TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for the advice. :thumbup:

Are you implying that one flash wont cut it?

6. williambarry

williambarry TPF Noob!