Seeking publication advice

Vagabonderz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I am seeking some advice. I'm an amateur photographer and I host my pictures on Flickr. I have just received an email from a publishing company requesting permission to use an image for a book cover (non-exclusive use she specifies). I've never been approached before.

She gives links to the company and the author and it all looks legit. It is a book that will be published in June 2009 and they are printing 3000 copies (paperback, distributed in Australia and NZ only - I am living in Melbourne currently). Their offer to me is $300 plus 10 copies of the book. She goes on to say I would retain copyright of the image and I would get credit on the book jacket.

Needless to say I am completely inexperienced in this matter, which is why I am here. While I just feel honored and flattered that they would like my picture so much, I would like to make sure I am doing the right thing. Does this offer sound reasonable? If so, and if I go ahead with it, what can I expect in terms of legalities, paperwork, etc?

Thank you much in advance.

Carlo

I can't comment on the price you have been offered (simply something that I don't know) however non-exclusive use, credit on the jacket and retaining your copywrite sound good. Have you checked out the publisher of the book (a book forum might be best to ask) to make sure that they are both legitimate and likley to get into bookstores?
Aside from that it sounds good at least - make sure though that you make up and both agree to a contract of use for this image - stating specifically what they are buying with their money that way you are protected in the future.