Selective color photos C&C

stone_family3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Local camera store is holding a contest, the subject is selective color photos.

This is my first attempt. Please let me know what you think. I don't know what my final photo will be yet. There are just my first works.

theiris.jpg

parkbw.jpg

bwflower.jpg

BWflower2.jpg

thepuppet-1.jpg

IMO IMHO TBQH none of these are a good use of selective coloring.

As I stated I don't know what my final photo will be, for my first attempts I opted for photos what weren't very detailed because I wasn't sure how to do it, I got my instructions off of TPF.

You need to consider composition of the photo, and what selective coloring would do in terms of where it will draw the eye, and to what object.

For example, what does a black and white man in a playground tell the viewer?

What kind of thoughts does a yellow dandelion with a grayish background convey?

Do you have any examples you can show?

selective color should draw your attention to the highest point of interest in the photo- here is one I did a while back....

4476824653_5dc99b37bd_b.jpg

The only reason it works here is because her face (aka the subject) is covered by the flowers (aka props) Without selective color, this photo would be tossed from my set.

Your photos are not awful, they are just not good candidates for SC.

p!nK

The one with the jungle gym got me thinking. It'd be cool if you had someone dressed in 1920's attire (suit, fedora -- like an old mob movie) but in a decidedly modern setting (abstract art sculpture, modern glass building) and had just the person black and white. Almost like they were thrown from the past into the present. They would need a look of astonishment or confusion on thier face.

I think it would be neat, anyway...