Self Taught Photographer

Christina Elisa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I bought my first camera (Nikon D5500) early this summer and I've been playing around with it in auto mode. I've gotten comfortable with it, but I would like to learn how to get more in depth with my photography. I am an absolute beginner and know nothing about ISO, aperture, lenses, etc. What books would be best to help me learn these things? I have no local resources to take classes which would have been my first choice. I'd be willing to do online courses if there are any good ones available. Mainly I am looking for any good consumer books, YouTube channels or even college textbooks that could help me learn the skill of taking great photos. Lately I've been watching YouTube videos by Peter McKinnon and Tony Northrup and they are helpful, but I'd like to get my hands on as many resources as possible. I really welcome any and all suggestions. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

I've found loads of beginners books in the local library & often in charity shops. Much of the material in books from film days is still very relevant as long as you consider advances in hardware. I can't stand Tony Northrup he likes to be contentious, and don't use YouTube that much. I have found the Cambridge in colour website to be very good. Covering the basics clearly & having some more in depth information available too.

Once you have a rough grasp of Aperture/shutter speed/ISO then go out & take photos in the semi automatic modes using several different settings for the same subject. Aperture & shutter speed are the most important creative controls and it's easiest to get familiar with them if you only change one variable at a time. I use Av at least 90% of the time.

To begin with you can leave the camera in autoISO (possibly limiting the maximum if required), autoWB...