semi or pro DSLR?

Rose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there, i am new here so i am not sure whether this has been discussed here, but i was wondering if anyone out there could fill me in on the difference between a Semi-Professional and a Professional Digital SLR camera! I am just looking at buying one and am not sure whether spending the extra money on a professional is going to pay off. Many people say that they wish they had bought a Professional to start with, but if one isnt going to use the functions i dont see the point.

So what are the differences ?

I am studying photography, cant really specify the area of photography that i do, i am trying to be an 'all-arounder'!

Thank U

..sorry to come on here and burst all these questions but you all seem like a helpful bunch...:thumbup:

Pro bodies have more functions, better build, better AF, more FPS... etc etc

But if you don't know what you're shooting, and what functions you're going to use, then we're sure won't be able to decide for you.

You can learn with just about anything and you get what you pay for in terms of performance.

whats is FPS?

Yes you are right, most people i have spoken to have confirmed that very thing! however is it naive to assume that the pro cameras might one day (soon hopefully in the next 2 years) come down price-wise to where the semi-pro camera lie, say the Canon 350D @800 EURO ?....

im guessing that youre :lmao:

I'd say get a DSLR D50, im completey new to all this DSLR stuff, and the D50 is amazing, whack it on Autofocus and you take any shot and its perfect!

As a photography student, I am sure that you will need only a basic SLR with fully manual control functions. If you are getting a DSLR then the 350D or D50 would be more than capable of doing the job.

The only advantage to getting a true pro camera from your persective is for the superior build quality. As a student on a budget, I do not think this is sufficient justification for paying an extra 0 on the price.

Rob