Sensor cleaning question

shoutinhalls

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings all!

I am a very new photographer and think I may have gotten something on my sensor. I called a local place that cleans them but they gave me contradicting information:

First he said that the spots in my photos should not change size regardless of the zoom on the lens, then he said that it could change when I was just going to try and clean the lens again.

I am just trying to find out if the spots could be on the sensor and not the lens, even though they change size when zoomed in or out. Want to get that cleared up before spending $50 on something that may not resolve the issue, I already have checked the lens and see nothing wrong on either side.

These are two photos where you can see the difference of the spot in the top right corner

thanks!

wv 2-2016-003.jpg

wv 2-2016-009.jpg

It's on the sensor. Just get a good bulb blower. Take off the lens. Lock the mirror up (or put it in live mode(which lifts the mirror, and give the sensor a VERY hearty blowing. That will take care of 99.9% of the dust issues. NEVER use your own breath, it has moisture and that will adhere and collect the dust, then you have to use more aggressive measures which can cause problems if you are not very careful. The other NEVER is canned air, like they sell to blow out your computer and such. These contain chemicals (in the propellant) which CAN damage the coatings on the sensors. And give your lens a good blowing out as well front and back.
Here's a link to a good one
Sensei Bulb Air-Blower (Medium, Black) BL-012 B&H Photo Video

Sensor muck doesn't change size with focal length, but it does change with aperture. Smaller apertures make the spots smaller & higher contrast just as seen here, where the top image was taken at f/25 & the lower one at f/10.

Hi all,