Server-based alternative to Lightroom?

jallen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everyone,

I'm a student at a university that could really use your ideas. I work in an office that is in the business of digitizing the university's assets and information (yearbooks, projects, faculty vitae, etc.). For now, we're using software called Telescope (not sure if that would be familiar to photographers) to host a lot of the images from various offices here. But the costs on that are super high (~$30,000/year just for maintenance) and the university is broke. So when the maintenance contract runs out at the end of the calendar year, we need another way to host the images.

Adobe Lightroom seems like a great solution, except that it doesn't seem to be server-based at all. We need multiple people from all around campus to have access to the images. So is there a photo storage software out there (even open-source) that may be able to accomplish that? Something web-based would work well, too. Microsoft Sharepoint was brought up, but I haven't researched it yet. Any ideas would be sweet. Thanks so much in advance. Also, I'm an accounting major with just a little photography experience, but the information will eventually get filtered through to people who are also photographers. Thanks in advance.

Justin

Welcome to the forum.

I'll start by saying that I'm no IT expert.
So basically, you need a way to archive the photos while having them accessible to your network.