Setting Up a Durst M 370 Color Enlarger

Ted Vieira

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
tavphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey, I'm completely new to darkroom printing. I acquired a Durst M 370 and a variety of other darkroom supplies including a GraLab timer and a Durst TRA 305N transformer.

My question is, in what order do I connect these three items? I'm in the US, is the transformer necessary or can I just go from the wall (110) to the timer to the enlarger?

Sorry for such a base questions, this must sound really dumb! I really appreciate any input on this. Thanks so much! - Ted

The Transformer is for use with the Color Head with the 12v lamp (that can also be used for B&W printing). The B&W Head uses a 120v lamp and does not need the transformer, however as your unit came with a transformer it probably has the Color Head with that 12v lamp.

My first enlarger was a Durst and I only used 35mm film with it. You probably want to check that you have the film carriers and lenses for the size of film you plan to print from.

I usually plugged the GraLab into the wall and the enlarger into the timer.

Hey Dave, thanks so much! Yeah, it's got the color head. I'll plug the timer into the wall and the enlarger into the timer, but do you know where I connect the transformer? Thanks so much!

The transformer should go between the enlarger and the timer. Before connecting anything - best to open the head and check the bulb type and voltage. You have to use the transformer between the enlarger and any 110v outlet if the bulb is 12v.

Welcome to darkroom printing!!

A few tips......

I tell all noobs....BUY OLD PHOTO BOOKS!!!!! Cheap and plentiful.

I bought these books for $2 each.

olVwOkV.jpg

Printing BW with a color enlarger?