Shooting Canon 5D Mark III in M mode with auto ISO

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by k.udhay, Nov 6, 2017.

  1. jaomul

    jaomul Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,352
    Likes Received:
    1,399
    Location:
    Cork Ireland
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Fun is allowed on forums


     
  2. Braineack

    Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Location:
    NoVA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    never!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Derrel

    Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    39,854
    Likes Received:
    14,951
    Location:
    USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yeah: the question remains: Can the Canon 5 D Mark 3 shoot in Manual exposure mode, with AUTO ISO enabled, with Exposure Compensation used? Not in Av mode, as T. Campbell mentioned works, but in Manual exposure mode. Can the 5D-III do Manual exposure in AUTO ISO mode and allow the shooter use Exposure Compensation? The Canon guy in the video claims NO, it can not.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. k.udhay

    k.udhay TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yeah.... I wish I could get answer for what I asked... :(
     
  5. Tomasko

    Tomasko No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    74
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm not sure what more you need.. The video claims it's not possible and I told you what to do in such case - use ISO instead. Exposure compensation would do exactly the same, so I'm not sure what's the big deal. Have your ISO on Auto and if it gets it wrong, dial it back/more a little to compensate, exactly like you'd do with the function you're asking about.
    You should be familiar with this technique anyway. If the feature won't be available to you, what will you do? Don't rent the camera?
     
  6. Braineack

    Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Location:
    NoVA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I can't imagine how exp. comp would be disabled in this mode.

    Think about it, the camera must use the meter to pick an ISO. All you've done is lock down two of three settings. If Canon really disabled exp. comp, in M mode while using Auto ISO, it simply doesn't make sense.

    but that still doesn't answer the question. :)


    all I can find from the internets:

    from manual:
    this suggests no exp. comp.


    this article suggests no too:


    :( silly Canon.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2017
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. ronlane

    ronlane What's next? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    8,695
    Likes Received:
    3,443
    Location:
    Mustang Oklahoma
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I rented a 5D mk III this weekend as a second body. For football, I will use manual mode and auto ISO on my 7D mk II and then use EC, so I wanted to set up the 5DmkIII this way as well. What I found was it would do exposure bracketing but I could not find out how to be able to use EC. It wasn't the end of the world but it is something that I would really liked to have been able to use.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Braineack

    Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Location:
    NoVA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Here's the problem with this statement: You're telling him to dial it back. That's exactly what he wants to do via exp. comp, so the ISO is adjusted by whatever stop. What is he supposed to "dial back"? The shutter speed and aperture he doesn't want to give up. Come on man...

    To do what you're asking means the user would have to turn off auto ISO, then change the ISO manually to match the desired exposure, OR meter on something that changes the ISO to the desired level, then lock the EV.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Tomasko

    Tomasko No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    74
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Please, re-read what I wrote. That's exactly what I said. He's supposed to change ISO manually if Auto doesn't cut it. All I'm talking about is ISO, as exposure compensation in M works exactly like that - manipulating ISO... It doesn't matter if you change ISO or exposure compensation, it will do exactly the same thing = it doesn't matter if the camera supports exposure compensation in M or not.
     
  10. Braineack

    Braineack Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Location:
    NoVA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    might as well shoot in A mode, set a min shutter speed, and then use auto-iso and exp comp at that point.

    the whole exercise of auto-iso, is that it's auto, not manual.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. k.udhay

    k.udhay TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit

    Finally got the answer! :D

    I would try to go for Mark IV instead. My Nikon cropped sensor has auto ISO with EC and many a times it captures me the moments. So I would better go for Mark IV which has this option.

    Thank you!
     
  12. k.udhay

    k.udhay TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    India
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit



    Thank you for clearing my doubt! Though it is not mandatory to have EC, it gives a comfort and adjusts ISO much faster than manual adjustment.
     

Share This Page