Canon Rebel XSi

Lenses:
Canon 50mm 1.4f
Canon 18-55mm

Flash:
Canon Speedlite 430EX II
Sto-Fen omni bounce diffuser

Situation:

Headed to Santa Rosa, CA this weekend for the release of Pliny the Younger (Russian River Brewing). Planned on taking some pictures while there. I'm an amateur when it comes to photography...but understand the basics/moderate settings.

I was curious if anyone could help me with proper camera settings when shooting in a bar/indoor situation. Wanted to take some good pictures of friends/scene/beers while there. Can anyone help me with settings I should use for these type of situations? I tried my hand using the 50mm at a brewery in Marin, CA a few months back...but it seemed all my shots came out dark (didn't use a flash). I figured that lens could gobble up light without it. I just got that lens for X-mas so maybe I need more lessons with it.

Any help with settings to "start with" would be greatly appreciated.

Look forward to using these forums in the near future for help!

Welcome to the forum.

What I would do in that situation, would be to use the flash and put the camera into Manual mode.

I'd suggest using the 50mm lens because it will make focusing easier, but you may want to use the zoom lens to get wider shots at times.

I'd set the aperture for the DOF I wanted. Maybe something like F2.8 to F5.6. I'd set the shutter speed for the amount of ambient (background) exposure I wanted. The longer the shutter speed, the more ambient you get.