shopping for new camera...help needed

iamoph

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have the olympus sp550uz ... Archived Products &gt SP-550 UZ

and i would really like to get something a little better. dont get me wrong, this camera takes great pics but i do a lot of cropping and its only 7mp so i am looking for 10mp and up. i have several questions:

1: Canon or Nikon?

2: i love the 18x optical zoom on my camera...how can i get even better with a digital SLR w/o spending thousands of dollars on lenses?

3: is that what a telephoto...zoom lense does...lets you zoom far away like the optical zoom? I will only go as far as the optical zoom will let me as i hate the results from digital zoom.

4: some of the cameras i am looking at only have 3x optical but come with 18-55mm Kit + 55-200mm VR Image Stabilization Zoom Lens....is that a good lens?

5: will a nikon lens work on a canon dslr?

6:here are some that im looking at...remember, im still new to this and dont want something high end..just a minor upgrade....

A: Walmart.com: Save money. Live better.

B: Walmart.com: Save money. Live better.

or just the canon eos digital rebel Xs

Ultimately, should i just hang on to my camera and maybe get some lenses for it?

1: Canon or Nikon?

An entirely moot point when talking about consumer cameras. Get the camera that feels good for you, that you're most comfortable with menu and general layout wise. For me that was Canon; that and their lens line-up, from my position, was to die for. You may feel differently. It's only in the high-end bodies that are pushing the limits of camera design that you start to see meaningful differences between the two brands, and even then, it's often a fine line.

2: i love the 18x optical zoom on my camera...how can i get even better with a digital SLR w/o spending thousands of dollars on lenses?