Should i buy a canon eos 400D

mitchster26

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi i am new to SLR photography and i was wondering if the Canon EOS 400D would be a good first camera to go for, your help would be much appreciated, Paul.

I can assure you that it is a very good camera. However, I would encourage you to go try it and other competitors before you buy; how the camera feels to you is really the most important thing. Some say the 400D is too small, so go pick it and a D80 up, see which one you like better.

mitchster26

I will advise you as I have others with kind of question. If you are asking us, then you are not ready to buy a DSLR. First thing you need to do is evaluate your skill & knowledge level. Then look at the cameras that you feel fit your need and you can grow into. Compare the features of the ones you are interested in to narrow down your choices. This is a good site to do so.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sidebyside.asp

After you have narrowed down your choice go to a real photography store, not a big box place. Handle each of the cameras you are interested in. Look at the lenses, accessories etc that you are interested in. See which one feels the best in your hands with the controls easily useable. Most good camera stores will let you take a few pictures or even take it out for a little bit to try out. Then you are ready to make a decision. When you buy a DSLR you are not buying a camera. You are buying a system. Bodies come and go but good lenses when taken care of will last forever. Good Luck

Thanks for your advice hopefully i will be able to post some quality picture's on the forum in the future, Paul.

Hi i am new to SLR photography and i was wondering if the Canon EOS 400D would be a good first camera to go for, your help would be much appreciated, Paul.