Should I buy a Canon T4i or T5i

Discussion in 'Canon' started by Siconds, Mar 27, 2013.

1. Siconds

Siconds New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Hello, I am somewhat new to the realm of DSLR photography and I've been wanting to purchase a DSLR for quite some time now. Long story short, I have had my eye on the T4i for the past few months and when I was just about to purchase the T4i, Canon announced that the T5i would be released around the end of April.

What I'm trying to decide is if the new features and improvements included with the T5i are really "worth it". As of now the T4i body is $100 cheaper than the pre-order price for the T5i body because it's being discontinued or whatever. My budget isn't so tight that I couldn't purchase one or the other, it's more of which is the better deal.

Also, would it be better to buy the kit lens for now or to purchase the body and some other lens? I pretty much like landscape and anything from dogs to smaller objects.

Thanks in advanced and sorry for my limited vocabulary
  2. JohnTrav

JohnTrav Active Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    I haven't read any reviews on the t5i or any of the new features.

I would go with a t4i and invest in a nice lens.

Have you thought about a 60d?
  3. 07Vios

07Vios New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I would just get the T4i, but wait until they go on clearance. The T5i is essentially the same thing with the exception of a supposedly new live view autofocus system and aesthetics.

I normally dislike kit lenses on Rebels, but the T4i/T5i have STM kit lenses, which is supposedly design to work well in video. If you don't plan on shooting video, I say just get the T4i body, and spend some money on better glass (but the kit lens will meet your shooting needs as long as you have enough light around).
  4. Siconds

Siconds New Member

Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit