Should i consider getting the Fujifilm 56mm f1.2 R?

Discussion in 'Mirrorless Cameras' started by d_animality, May 9, 2017.

1. d_animality

d_animality TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi guys i own the X-T2, im very new in this photography and as for portraits i have the Rokinon 135mm, Its a very wonderful lens but the focal length is quite far..i need to stand myself away from the subject to take good picture... other than that im also ordering the Fujinon 23mm f2 which will be coming to me soon (thinking maybe its enough for the focal length so i dont need to get the 56mm)... so im wondering do i still need the 56mm for my camera? i love to take portraits, family photo, street, landscape and astro photography... so i have rokinon 12mm for my wide lens :) so hoping to get your recommendations soon :D

2. Solarflare

Solarflare No longer a newbie, moving up!

Most Fujifilm X lenses are pretty good.

Personally I would prefer a Nikon G to Fujifilm X adapter plus Voigtländer "Nokton" 58mm f1.4 SL II "S" (or the predecessor "N" or the predecessor of that, all three versions are optically identical) over the 56/1.2. It cheaper - even more so if buying used - and optically superior.

Even inside the system, the 60/2.4 macro lens is as good if not better optically and available very cheap as a used lens. And its a 1:2 macro lens on top of that.

Of course theres also the upcoming XF 80mm f2.8 WR OIS macro which is 1:1. Its only on the official map so far, though, not announced yet.

3. jaomul

jaomul Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    I can't talk specifically for that lens (though I know it gets good press), but 56mm should be a very good portrait length on a crop camera due where it positions you in relation to subject. 23mm on the other hand is not really considered a good length for portrait

4. d_animality

d_animality TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit