Should I switch to 24-70mm2.8 from 24-105mm f4l.

JustALilBud

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can't decide what would benefit me more. A 2.8 aperture cause I love to shoot in lower light and I don't need all the zoom cause I have the 70-200 2.8 is ii to grab that stuff. But then would I miss the IS on the f4? I'm no pro. But have some decent skill. Anybody's examples or knowledge would be great.
Side note. Yes I want the version 2. But can't afford it.

I rented it for a week and Well I have mixed feelings. I liked how sharp it was and the 2.8 but I found I always wanted to go wider or tighter. I know it does cover the 35 & 50 focal range but I really like 85 and above.

I owned it for my D7100 and wanted to go wider ... probably wouldn't have been an issue on FF.

I would say yes, as you will get the extra 2.8, 3.2, 3.5 third stops also.

Canon needs to make their 24-105 at 2.8. I'd buy one and never take it off.

But then would I miss the IS on the f4? I'm no pro. But have some decent skill. Anybody's examples or knowledge would be great.

You shouldn't need IS/VR on a mid rang zoom like the 24-70mm. Just set the shutter speed to equal the focal length or slightly more. Anything slower is most likely going to be shot on a tripod...which you have to cut it off. Keep in mind, IS/VR doesn't do much anything 1/500 or faster either.

You shouldn't need IS/VR on a mid rang zoom like the 24-70mm. Just set the shutter speed to equal the focal length or slightly more. Anything slower is most likely going to be shot on a tripod...which you have to cut it off. Keep in mind, IS/VR doesn't do much anything 1/500 or faster either.

Let's not get too hasty. IS is great for video. You can shoot most sub 100mm lenses handheld if they have IS.

But photo wise yeah it's not needed that much.

Let's not get too hasty. IS is great for video. You can shoot most sub 100mm lenses handheld if they have IS.

But photo wise yeah it's not needed that much.