Show me the wide angle!

PeaPod

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have seen a few threads that have helped with my question but a lot of it was about renting, and I want to buy. I want to invest in a really good wide angle lens for my Canon 40D. I agree with a lot of the other posts that 2.8 is important especially since I shoot a lot of dark ballrooms at conventions. It also needs to be REALLY wide. I keep hearing about the Tokina http://www.adorama.com/TN1116EOS.html Is $569.00 a good price? Is there anything better or even wider? Is Canon glass that much better? I'm willing to spend more but it has to be a considerably better lens for more than $600.00. How much difference are we talking between 10mm and 11mm? (As you can see I am still pretty new to equipment talk and to the forum concept but so far it ROCKS!!!!)
Thanks!!!
PeaPod

You won't find much difference between 10 and 11mm. Some 12mm lenses are actually "wider" than 10mm lenses.

The Tokina 11-16mm is one of the best ultra-wides on the market now, and I think most people would suggest it over Canon's 10-22mm. $569 is the standard rate, so yes that's a good price.

I was going to ask that too.. 11 is 11, and 10 is 10. One cannot bend the laws of physics. :)

Also, the wider the lens, the more distortion you will get. This cannot be helped, and I hope you are aware of this. Ballroom environments are smaller areas and using an ultrawide will give you a ton of distortion.

I was going to ask that too.. 11 is 11, and 10 is 10. One cannot bend the laws of physics. :)

Also, the wider the lens, the more distortion you will get. This cannot be helped, and I hope you are aware of this. Ballroom environments are smaller areas and using an ultrawide will give you a ton of distortion.

Apparently you haven't kept up with the latest video games. They can break any laws they want........ Oh wait, were talking about photography in the real world. My Bad. :blushing: