Shutter Durability

Soda Ant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
One of the things DSLR manufacturer specs and online/magazine reviews commonly list is shutter durability figures. Prosumer DSLRs (e.g. the D700) typically list 150,000 exposures and pro DSLRs (e.g. D3) go up to 300,000 exposures.

What does this number actually mean? Is this the actual expected working life of the shutter before it needs to be serviced or replaced? This is not a very large number of exposures, especially for a DSLR, where taking pictures is essentially free.

I'm not a pro, but I often take 1000 pictures a week--does this mean that if I buy a D700, I can expect its shutter to go belly up every 15 weeks?

One of the things DSLR manufacturer specs and online/magazine reviews commonly list is shutter durability figures. Prosumer DSLRs (e.g. the D700) typically list 150,000 exposures and pro DSLRs (e.g. D3) go up to 300,000 exposures.

What does this number actually mean? Is this the actual expected working life of the shutter before it needs to be serviced or replaced? This is not a very large number of exposures, especially for a DSLR, where taking pictures is essentially free.

I'm not a pro, but I often take 1000 pictures a week--does this mean that if I buy a D700, I can expect its shutter to go belly up every 15 weeks?

No, it means that you can go 150 weeks. By then it will be outdated and you will want something new...

No, it means that you can go 150 weeks. By then it will be outdated and you will want something new...
Now you may be able to get more or less photos out of the D700, that is just what the factory says it tested for. Some People 1M Miles out of there car. By the time that 150 weeks passes it has been almost 3 years and your looking most likely at the replacement of the D700 being a year old so prices would be better.

Check your math ;)