Siblings shoot.. C & C please

OnlyAGlimmer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
If this should be in the professional section feel free to move it!

I'm still very new to taking pictures for others so I would love some critique :)

replace1.jpg

395175270_z97fD-L.jpg

395178622_SnE92-L.jpg

#4 (I know I should have made sure the boys head was more visible)
395178612_4wFpU-L.jpg

#5 (I know I didn't leave enough space at the bottom and the boys hands are badly positioned)
395175253_zY4da-L.jpg

so... any helpful critique? :)

Last edited:
I think you had some fun ideas. Nice job. #3 is my favorite.

Well, 'helpful' is a rather subjective term, but I'll offer my thoughts. Overall, you've got some really nice images. In #1 the skin tones seem just a little bright, #2 especially is well done, particularily with the challenging lighting conditions you had. I think the highlights and skin tones in #3 might benefit from a little more work esp the areas camera left which seem just a little over bright. My big complaint however is with you backgrounds. It's never a good idea to have trees, telephone poles, et cetera, "growing" out of peoples heads, but in 1, 2, and 5 that's what you've got.

In all cases I think this could have been avoided just by moving the subjects a little further to camera right. I'd also suggest a shallower DoF (Your EXIF data is incomplete so I don't know what lens or aperture you were using). The backgrounds in 1, 2, and 4 are too focused and busy, distracting the eye from the subjects. If you don't have something like a 1.4, try using long glass and place yourself a little further away. Telephotos have much less DoF than wider angle lenses and this will result in a much softer, less distracting background.

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John