Sigma 17-70 vs Nikon 16-85 vs Nikon 18-140 for D7100

OpticPlanet

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone. Just picked up a 7100 body after selling my 5100 and its kit lens after 2 1/2 years.

I'm now stuck on what lens I should pick up for my 7100. I'm currently left with only the 40mm f/2.8 so I need another lens to go along with my 7100.

I'm debating on these 3:

• Sigma 17-70 2.8-4 C
  • Nikon 16-85
  • Nikon 18-140

Money isn't a playing factor in deciding between these 3 so it's just really on which one I should get.
I'm in New York so my photos are focused mainly on the city and portrait/body shots. I'm not a professional photographer so I don't go to weddings to shoot or anything like that. I travel to places here and there with my girlfriend so I like to have my camera for those occasions as well.

I heard the Sigma has some focusing issue with the edge being pretty soft.
Heard the 16-85 was rather slow and haven't really heard anything bad about the 18-140 so I'm leaning towards that one at the moment.

Would like to hear from you guys what you would recommend.
I will be picking up prime lens later next year, I just need a overall good general zoom lens for the time being as I don't want to be stuck with just a focal length if I was to get a prime lens now. I'm someone who likes to take pictures using a zoom rather than having to move my feet to the proper location.

I'm also aiming to get the Sigma 18-35 f1.8 but since it's $800 I'll properly hold off til next year. Or should I skip the other lens and just save up for the Sigma 18-35? Heard it's been having some focusing issues so I'm a bit reluctant to get it right now.

Last edited:
I would say - none of the above - and instead recommend the Nikon 24-85mm f/2.8-4.0D IF AF Zoom Nikkor Lens

The AF 24-85 mm also has a switchable 1:2 Macro (very close focus) capability I often found useful when out shooting general type shots.