Sigma 70-200 2.8 vs Canon 70-200 2.8 L

benstewart

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have to upgrade from my old Sigma 70-210 APO 2.8. I will be shooting for professional print in the near future and the Sigma is not sharp enough.

I've seen photos from a newer 70-200 and they look great.

My question is, which one should I get?

The Sigma is a DG lens, meaning it won't work on full frame cameras - if and when I get one.

The Canon L lens is obviously more expensive, heavier, but has incredibly image quality and is built like a tank.

I am an intern photojournalist for a local newspaper and will be shooting action sports portraits - lots of different sports too. Of course, either lens is good for the future - for a while at least.

If you can afford the Canon one, than get it.

Canon have discontinued the 2.8L (non-IS) lens in Europe. They'll stop making it in the USA too I guess.

Bother are very nice lenses. The canon is a tad sharper but the Sigma is also a very nice lens. If you can, save up for the IS. It really is a truly wonderful lens. Probably my favourite

Based on very high reviews of both lenses..

Why do you recommend the Canon over Sigma?

I currently have a Sigma 24-70 2.8 and I LOVE IT.

I also heard that rechipping might be necessary with the Sigma, and I'd rather not do that.

The canon is sealed, it covers a 35mm frame, and judging from my off brand lens experience, it's got to be built better.

The canon is sealed, it covers a 35mm frame, and judging from my off brand lens experience, it's got to be built better.

Exactly.

I have never used THAT particular lens, but I from my experience every L lens in the tele range is wonderfully bult.

Sigma does do some nice lenses too , but in this particular comparison, I would go for the Canon. Also that one is considered Canon's finest Zoom in terms of image quality.

It sounds like you see full-frame in your future so go for the Canon.