Silly lens question for dSLRs

NordicWarrior111

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, I'm new to the forums, so I'll say a little about myself so I'm not "that weird/stupid newcomer." I'm a college student, majoring in English, but I've been an avid photographer ever since I was...12. I've taken two photography courses in high school, and while I want to take some in college I don't think I'll be able to unless I want to stay an extra year. Anyway. I currently own and operate a Pentax (film), model ZX-30. My photography usually revolves around equine photography, with some general nature and portrait work. I recently was the photographer for a wedding as well, and I'm considering joining a local (small) media production company of which I'd be the main photographer. Haha, I don't want to puff myself up too much, but wanted to be straight about my camera usage.

Because I 1) don't have access to my own darkroom and 2) am a poor college student and unable to take many pictures because of film processing, I'm thinking of getting a dSLR. I'll stick with Pentax, as I simply love my film Pentax, and I've heard some good things about their dSLR models. I probably would be buying a camera in the 600-1,000 dollar range. Obviously, cost is a major factor, so I'd prefer something closer to 600, but because I'd rather dish out a bit extra and get a long-term quality camera, I'm open in my range.

I'll get to the point of the thread, I *swear*. ;)