silly lighting q

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by gabelimom, Jan 27, 2007.

  1. gabelimom

    gabelimom TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Okay, so I was shooting a model yesterday and was working with two lights. Mine was a Hensel strobe with the modeling light on, and the other light was a bigger softbox but with a modeling light only (no strobe). My question is this: In the shots I took, it looks like only my light was working. I am assuming this is because the other softbox didn't have a strobe. Am I right?

    And so my other question (I know I only said I had one) is this: How much does a modeling light sans strobe affect the light in a photo? Is it almost like the light is not even there, or does it slightly affect the ambient light?

    Thanks in advance to all!!! :)

    Jennifer
     
  2. ladyphotog

    ladyphotog TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yes, the light without the strobe (modeling light) acts like a lamp or any other ambient light in the room.
     
  3. JIP

    JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    It really depends on your overall settings if the strobe seems to be the only light it might just be overpowering the modeling light.
     
  4. gabelimom

    gabelimom TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thank you both for your help! The softbox without the strobe was creating, to me, a lot of light, but as I was checking the LCD, I could see that the light it was producing wasn't even factoring into the shots. Luckily, I had my light (with strobe) in the right spot so the photos are still okay! :blushing:

    Thanks again!!!!!:hail:
     
  5. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It's going to take like 50,000 watts of modelling light to equal the power of that one strobe. Unless you have the strobe 50 feet away on its lowest power, you'll never see the continuous light.
     

Share This Page