slides to digital

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by OBELIX74, Mar 31, 2007.

1. OBELIX74

OBELIX74 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have over 2000 slides that I would like to transfer to my PC.
    I haven't got a digital camera, although I am thinking of getting one.
    All my present kit is Nikon (F90S), and was wondering if it is possible to use a OHNAR slide duplicator on a Nikon D body (70/80?).
    Any tips, please?
    Thanks,

2. Alex_B

Alex_B No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have no experience with slide duplicators which you attach to a digital camera, however, I tried a slide duplicator from film on film and was not happy with the outcome.

Is the OHNAR duplicator adjusted for digitial cameras with a crop factor? If not I could imagine that you slide would be cropped in the projection on the sensor. In any case you need a good light source to get the right colour ...

3. Alex_B

Alex_B No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Anyway, whatever way you choose, scanning or duplicating by using a digital camera, it will take quite a lot of time to scan 2000 slides.

I did scan 6000ish slides with a Nikon 5000 ED scanner + slide feeder + a fast computer with lots of memory. Scanner and feeder I bought in an online shop and sold them 9 months later on Ebay for about 10% less than what I paid for them ... quite a good deal for me.

It requires a lot of postprocessing though (neatimage to reduce grain, and colour corrections and sharpening), and data files as 16-bit TIFFS easily exeed 120MByte per file. So you need a large harddrive + backup.

4. brighteyesphotos

brighteyesphotos TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit