SLR lens being mounted on DLSR body.

Discussion in 'Film Discussion and Q & A' started by interplanetarywinds, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. interplanetarywinds

    interplanetarywinds TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hey all,

    I just recently found a Minolta (St si Maxxum) film camera, and shot a roll with it. All of my shots turned out black with white streaks through them. I know this could be a problem with light coming in through the camera somewhere or something with the mirror, but either way as of now, I have no idea what the issue is. In some of the shots, you can see a glimpse of what I was trying to shoot but the entire roll was a loss. I'm going to get my camera looked at and see if it's worth saving, however, I am curious if there is a decent adaptor I can use to mount my lens on my SLR (Promaster AF 28-80mm) onto my Nikon DSLR body (D3200). If anyone has any suggestions OR good reasons as to why this wouldn't be a great idea, I'd love to hear it!

    Thanks,
    Interplanetarywinds


     
  2. 480sparky

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    22,541
    Likes Received:
    8,086
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The FILM came out black, or the PRINTS? What kind of film?

    Posing an image would help immensely.
     
  3. interplanetarywinds

    interplanetarywinds TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit



    This is what I got from the prints. Also, I was using FujiFilm 400 speed.
    _7A_0174.jpg
     
  4. Dave442

    Dave442 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    386
    All it shows is a tree. Looks like a shutter problem. I expect any repair can cost is more than the value of the camera body.

    Don't really see much use of trying to adapt that zoom lens to Nikon. A simple adapter will not focus to Infinity (can use for macro photography, but a bit of a pain to use) and an adapter with a glass element that allows focus to infinity will reduce the quality of what was probably a kit lens for that film camera.
     
  5. snowbear

    snowbear Big Furball Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    12,754
    Likes Received:
    4,407
    Location:
    SoMD
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    There is one at Adorama for $29 with 35-80 zoom lens.
     
  6. 480sparky

    480sparky Chief Free Electron Relocator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    22,541
    Likes Received:
    8,086
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yep. Shutter is hosed.
     
  7. dxqcanada

    dxqcanada Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    6,086
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You would need a mount adapter that has an optical compensation lens. From what I've read online, these tend not to be of great optical quality, and adding a not-so-great Promaster lens on top of that would not be worth it.
     
  8. petrochemist

    petrochemist No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    North Essex UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit


    Mounting lenses from other SLR mounts on Nikon cameras is usually a macro only project.
    Nearly all other SLR lenses are designed to be mounted closer to the sensor than the Nikon F mount, so extra optical elements are needed for other lenses to reach infinity focus.
    IIRC the Minolta A mount is the same one as used by Sony for their A mount. So it can be used without adapters on some of their cameras. It can also be adapted to Canon EF mount but I've only met a dumb adapter for this so any electronic functions would be lost.
     

Share This Page