So I finally upgraded...Now what? lol

Kerplunq

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all,

So I have made the mood from my Fuji point and shoot to a DSLR. I grabbed the Nikon D60 (And man did I grab it at a steal of a price) Also got the 18-55mm VR kit lens also.

So far it has been pretty good for the starter things that I have been trying out. But now I'm looking at some new glass. I do have a few questions.

1) I'm looking to do a few animal and possibly some Macro shots. I have already looked at a few lens, but I would like to hear what other opinions I should go with.

2) Is there really a big difference between, a Nikkor lens and a Sigma Lens? I do know that one I may have to manually focus, but is there a aftermarket that would have something like Nikkors VR?

3) Is it a good idea to go with a used Lens, instead of a new Lens? After all, I am still new to photography and still have a lot to learn. Also the fundage isn't too huge!!! (since I just bought my camera)

4) I know the prices of new, what should I be excepting to pay for a used lens?

Now I have already done some homework and I have a bit of an idea of what to grab...I'm just looking to see what you guys would recommend!
Thanks for all your help! :D

Hey all,

So I have made the mood from my Fuji point and shoot to a DSLR. I grabbed the Nikon D60 (And man did I grab it at a steal of a price) Also got the 18-55mm VR kit lens also.

So far it has been pretty good for the starter things that I have been trying out. But now I'm looking at some new glass. I do have a few questions.

1) I'm looking to do a few animal and possibly some Macro shots. I have already looked at a few lens, but I would like to hear what other opinions I should go with.

2) Is there really a big difference between, a Nikkor lens and a Sigma Lens? I do know that one I may have to manually focus, but is there a aftermarket that would have something like Nikkors VR?